Skip to content

Linktree vs Beacons: Prices, Fees and Features Compared

Compare Linktree and Beacons on price, selling fees, store, media kit, email and analytics, and see which link in bio tool fits how you work.

· 7 min read

Two runners point at two maps on a split blue and mustard set beside a giant phone showing the Dawn Patrol page

Linktree is the simpler, link-first tool: cheaper paid plans, polished pages and selling that starts on its $12 a month Pro plan. Beacons is a broader creator toolkit: you can sell, email and pitch brands on its free plan, but free sales carry a 9% fee, and dropping that fee costs $30 a month. Pick Linktree if links and design come first, Beacons if selling and brand deals come first.

Every price and fee below comes from each company's own pricing and help pages, read in October 2026.

Plans and prices side by side

LinktreeBeacons
Free planYes, unlimited linksYes, unlimited links
Entry paid planStarter: $6/mo yearly, $8 monthlyCreator: $8.33/mo yearly ($100), $10 monthly
Mid planPro: $12/mo yearly, $15 monthlyCreator Plus: $25/mo yearly ($300), $30 monthly
Top planPremium: $30/mo yearly, $35 monthlyCreator Max: $75/mo yearly ($900), $100 monthly
Free trial7 days on Pro and PremiumNot stated on the pricing page

A few notes on these numbers:

  • Beacons' help center lists Creator Max at $90 a month, while its pricing page says $100. The yearly $900 matches on both.
  • The pricing block on the Beacons homepage shows only two plans, Free and Creator Plus at $30 a month.
  • On Linktree, the plan most people compare against Beacons is Pro, because that's where selling, design control and branding removal begin. If you want the full breakdown of Linktree's free tier, see is Linktree free.

Selling fees: the biggest difference

LinktreeBeacons
Sell digital products on the free planNo (Pro and Premium)Yes
Platform feePro: "Sell and earn with 0% fees"Free and Creator: 9%. Creator Plus and Max: 0%
Payment processingStripe, 2.9% + $0.30 per purchaseStripe 2.9% + $0.30, or PayPal 3.49% + a fixed fee
CoursesNot stated1 course without video hosting on Free and Creator; unlimited with video on Creator Plus

Linktree's help center says selling digital products is available on Pro and Premium, in supported countries, at prices from $1 to $10,000. Its pricing page lists 0% selling fees on Pro, and its fee article says the Linktree fee depends on your plan. Stripe's processing fee applies either way.

Beacons lets anyone sell from day one, which is useful if you're testing whether a product will sell at all. The cost of that is 9% of every sale until you move to Creator Plus. Here is how it plays out on $500 of sales in a month, before processing fees:

SetupMonthly costPlatform fee on $500Total
Beacons Free$0$45$45
Beacons Creator Plus (monthly)$30$0$30
Linktree Pro (monthly)$15$0$15

At low sales, Beacons Free costs less than any subscription. Past roughly $333 a month in sales, the 9% fee costs more than Creator Plus. For the bigger picture on pricing and delivery, see how to sell digital products.

Features compared

FeatureLinktreeBeacons
StoreDigital products on Pro and PremiumDigital products on every plan; unlimited courses and memberships on Creator Plus
Media kitUS only; refreshes daily; PDF and reordering on Pro and PremiumEvery plan; updates daily; includes rate cards, invoices and a pricing calculator
EmailCollect signups on all plans; sync to Mailchimp, Klaviyo, Kit or Google Sheets on Pro and PremiumBuilt-in email: 50 sends a month free, 500 on Creator, unlimited on Creator Plus
Instagram auto-DMs1,000 a month free, up to unlimited on PremiumUnlimited on every plan (advanced DMs show Beacons branding on Free and Creator)
Analytics history28 days free, 90 on Starter, 365 on Pro, lifetime on PremiumReal-time analytics on the free plan
DesignStandard themes free; custom backgrounds, fonts and more themes on ProCustomizable link in bio on every plan
Remove brandingPro and PremiumCreator Plus and Max
Custom domainNot on the plan pagesFree custom domain on Creator and above
AIAI integrations on PremiumBeam AI assistant, 30 AI credits a day free

The pattern: Linktree keeps the free plan focused on links and moves selling and design control into Pro. Beacons gives you more tools for free but charges on the sales they bring in, and keeps branding removal and unlimited email for Creator Plus.

Setup and day-to-day use

Both take minutes and both work the same way once live: one link in your Instagram, TikTok or YouTube bio.

  • Linktree: you sign up, pick a username, and your page lives at linktr.ee/yourusername. You add links from the Links tab with + Add. Our step by step guide on how to make a Linktree walks through it.
  • Beacons: Beacons says setup takes under five minutes, with its AI assistant Beam guiding you through the first version. Each link can be scheduled, put on a countdown, animated or given a discount code. The full walkthrough is in our Beacons link in bio guide.

The practical difference is how much is on screen. Linktree's editor is mostly about links and their look. Beacons' dashboard also holds your store, email, media kit and DM automations, which is more to learn but means fewer separate tools.

Who each tool is best for

Choose Linktree if:

  • You mainly need a clean, well-designed page of links. (Free Linktrees can show ads; any paid plan removes them.)
  • You want low-cost paid plans ($6 a month for Starter, billed yearly).
  • You plan to sell digital products steadily and want 0% platform fees for $12 to $15 a month on Pro.
  • You already use Mailchimp, Klaviyo or Kit and want signups synced there.

Choose Beacons if:

  • You want to start selling before you pay for anything, and can accept the 9% fee while sales are small.
  • Brand deals matter and you want a free, auto-updating media kit with rate cards and invoices (Linktree's media kit is US only).
  • You want built-in email and unlimited Instagram auto-DMs without a separate tool.
  • You'd rather have one dashboard for links, store, email and brand work.

A third option: Olaa

If neither fits, Olaa sits between them. Its free plan includes one page with unlimited links, every look, font and background, a theme pulled from one photo, music and video players that play on the page (Spotify, Apple Music, SoundCloud, YouTube, Vimeo, TikTok), Calendly bookings and Google Forms that open on the page, a QR code and 7 days of analytics. Olaa Pro is $8 a month or $72 a year and adds products with photo and price from Stripe, Etsy, Shopify or Gumroad, with checkout in your own shop and no cut taken by Olaa, plus email signups sent to Mailchimp, scheduled links, 30 and 90 day analytics, up to 10 pages and no Olaa badge. It fits people who already sell somewhere and want a good-looking page that points there. See Olaa's pricing for the details, or compare more tools in our list of Linktree alternatives.

FAQ

Is Beacons better than Linktree?

Neither is better for everyone. Beacons gives you more free tools for selling, email and brand deals, while Linktree offers cheaper paid plans and 0% selling fees from its Pro plan. Choose based on whether links or selling matter most to you.

Is Beacons cheaper than Linktree?

On the free plans, both cost $0, but Beacons takes 9% of free-plan sales. On paid plans, Linktree is cheaper at each level: Starter $6 vs Creator $8.33, and Pro $12 vs Creator Plus $25, all billed yearly.

Does Linktree take a cut of sales?

Linktree's pricing page lists Pro with "Sell and earn with 0% fees", and its help center says the Linktree fee depends on your plan. Stripe's processing fee of 2.9% + $0.30 per purchase applies on every plan.

Can I sell on Linktree's free plan?

Linktree's help center lists selling digital products as a Pro and Premium feature. On Beacons, you can sell on the free plan with a 9% fee.

Can I switch from Linktree to Beacons, or back?

Yes. Both give you one link that you paste into your Instagram, TikTok or YouTube bio, so switching means rebuilding your page in the new tool and replacing the link in each bio. Any QR codes you printed with the old link will need replacing too.

See everything in Link in bio tools